A colleague recently suggested that you are a reflection of the five people that you spend the most time with. My first thought was to be alarmed and run.

My five people would include my husband, son, daughter, mother and friend (does my dog count?). Immediately their quirky and annoying traits came to mind. I shook my head in disagreement; no way was I like them!

‘My husband tells long-winded stories, repeatedly!’ I rambled… ‘My mother has a tendency to complain,’ I complained… ‘My son can be stubborn,’ I argued... ‘And my daughter is headstrong and opinionated’ I shouted... ‘My friend can be rash,’ I blurted…

Then it dawned on me. Oh. My. God! I do have some of their qualities, the bad along with good, although perhaps only to a small extent. So rather than run for the hills, I thought about the positive ones: My husband is loyal and intelligent. My mother is caring and loving. My son has a quick wit, my daughter is determined, and my friend always offers her sage advice when I need help with the other four!

What do you think? Are you a reflection of the five people that you spend the most time with?

